Will you marry me?

This is the question that every girl awaits for someday, right?  Ok, maybe not every girl, but I’m digressing.  Never in a million years would I have expected to hear this question in a middle school, let alone be the person in the school the question was addressed to.

This was my last day at the middle school and Ms. Scali announced to the students that it was my last day.  Now my memory of what happened is a bit hazy, probably because my brain went into “oh crap, think” mode, which will make more sense in a minute, but I think the students were giving me a round of applause as a way to send me off.  That’s when one student got up, came over to me, got down on one knee holding up a ring (well, actually it was a bracelet with a heart on it), and you guessed it, asked “will you marry me?”  This caught me completely off guard and I was speechless!  Now I’ve been asked this question once before and was speechless, but for obviously way different reasons.  Anyways, I’m trying to decide whether he’s joking or serious and I decide he’s likely joking with me so I try to revert the situation by giving a small laugh and telling him the bracelet is cute.  “But…will you marry me?”  Crap, maybe he’s more serious than I thought, or he’s really enjoying the joke.  After all, he has the ENTIRE class’ attention.  It’s time to end this…nicely.  “That’s sweet, but I’m actually already married,” as I show him the ring nestled on my finger.  Naturally, the whole class starts laughing him as he makes his way back to his seat.  Don’t worry, I think he’ll survive. 🙂  I think I even overheard one of the classmates tell him to get used to it.

This little experience got me thinking though.  When I think back to all of the people (e.g. teachers, advisors) that have/had major influences on my life, I recall having some sort of emotional tie to them.  I’m not saying I wanted to marry every influential person that crossed my path, but I did honestly have a good relationship with them.  Some of them I looked up to, some of them I admired, some were just super hilarious and could somehow entertain and help me learn, some were really passionate about their work, and some I knew were just really good people.  Some were even strict and had teaching practices that I didn’t always agree with, but I still liked them as a person.  Do we learn better with an emotional tie to our educator?  Has anyone ever had an instructor that they couldn’t stand, but they still learned a lot?

As a current and potential future educator, I’m quite certain I will continue to strive to establish this emotional tie, although I’ll try to keep future proposals at bay 🙂

About Emily Beck

I am a PhD student in Bioengineering at the University of Kansas and I am studying Tissue Engineering. I am interested in using nanoparticles and natural materials to create scaffolds that can assist in tissue regeneration/repair.
This entry was posted in 2011-2012 GK12, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Will you marry me?

  1. Sarah Roels says:

    I still can’t believe this happened to you. Hehe!

Leave a Reply

