It’s been a while…

So… I missed a solid month of the middle school in mid February/March because of spring breaks and having to fly across the country for interviews, but I finally got back into it last Friday and luckily for me not much had changed… not! Turns out my school no longer has to do any more assessments for the rest of the year, which is AMAZING because teaching seems so much more FUN now! Ralph and I sat down and came up with things for me to do the rest of April. This Friday, I am going to give my personal response lesson on light and electromagnetic waves, next Friday I am going to give an intro presentation on geophysics (wooot!), and then on the 20th I am going to bring in all my amazing seismic equipment and we are going to do demonstrations outside (super psyched for that one!!). So there should be some good posts coming up the next few weeks 🙂

On another note, I HAVE been at all of the undergraduate research methods classes 🙂 They just finished their inquiry 2’s last week, and are now starting on their final projects for the rest of the semester. I had mixed feelings about the proposals for their final projects… the students who have good motivation have the harder time tying down a question, and the other students are asking questions that they can easily just go look up online to find the answer too. But I don’t want to be mean and criticize them, because I know when I first started doing research I had start from scratch and zero experience also. I guess I just feel like they could utilize us grad students so much more than they do, but you can’t force em eh? For their inquiry 2, I did not notice a very obvious trend in the presentations… 98 percent of them did not prove or disprove their hypothesis and 98 percent of them said it was because they didn’t have enough samples. So I really hope they keep that in mind for their final project… but again this is all a learning process, and I do think failure is a good way to become successful. It’s an essential learning step that everyone needs, I know I’ve had my share 🙂

About benson3

I am in my second year as a PhD student at the University of Kansas. My degree is in geophysics with a focus on near-surface geoarcheology applications.
This entry was posted in 2011-2012 GK12, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s been a while…

  1. Sarah Roels says:

    You mean the students used their collected data to “support” or “not support” their hypotheses, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

