Change doesn’t necessarily mean improvement

Last week I went in on Friday during the students checkpoint test 5. I figured that would be a good day to go in and sit down with Mr. Ziegler and go over what we want to do this semester. They are about to start simple machines, and so he showed me the labs we will be doing. I’m looking forward to them, because I love any and all hands on teaching. I feel like I am most effective when they are doing labs also because I can walk around and work with them. I really try and stress getting them to explain to me their answers during that time, which is difficult for them to do but some are showing improvement. Mr. Ziegler and I decided that we would actually do two clicker lessons this semester. One will be when they start their sound and light lessons in March, they are doing a chapter on electromagnetics which I was SUPER excited to hear because that’s what I’m knees deep in 🙂 So I will use them for that lecture. And then at the end of April I’m going to bring them back in and we will use them for a famous scientists lecture that I think it will be very effective for.

On another note, Mr. Ziegler read me a new note of the new evaluations for teachers that are either being proposed or already set, not sure. Also, I don’t know if these were just for Kansas City or for Kansas as a whole, but they are roughly as follows: 50% of their evaluations are based on students improvement, 40% are based on supervisors evaluations, and I can’t remember exactly what the last 10% are based on. I have to say I think this is preposterous. Why are we evaluating teachers so hard on the improvements of the students? I think most, if not all, of us have seen at our schools that the majority of these students do.not.care. The teachers we work with are excellent, they are passionate, and really do try to get these kids engaged even with all of the crap they have to deal like discipline issues, bad management, and bad parenting as a few examples. If you evaluate a teacher based off of their students improvements in schools like these… we wouldn’t have any teachers left!!!!

I’m posting up two articles I have read recently. The first is a parents perspective on an issue similar to this one, very well written: http://m.examiner.com/k-12-in-topeka/in-what-other-profession

This second one is an article I just read about Brownback wants to post teachers evaluations up for the public to see. I can’t even imagine how many problems that would create: http://www.kansascity.com/2012/01/26/3393775/lawmakers-blast-online-teacher.html

About benson3

I am in my second year as a PhD student at the University of Kansas. My degree is in geophysics with a focus on near-surface geoarcheology applications.
This entry was posted in 2011-2012 GK12, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change doesn’t necessarily mean improvement

  1. That type of teacher evaluation is the big push here in Louisiana as well. If we could just get those politicians into the classroom as teachers for a week, they would sing such a different song! They just totally fail to address the real issue in student achievement, namely unmotivated, uninterested students. Yet they force us to teach to the tests, even though that is the most UN-motivating method possible. I really hope the pendulum swings back for all you young teachers, and common sense comes back into the equation SOON!

  2. benson3 says:

    Thank you for the comment Patsye! I totally agree. Mr. Zeigler and I were saying the exact same thing in class today.

Leave a Reply

